Wednesday, 30 July 2014

180 countries to enjoy India ETA Visa by October

The facility of Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) will be enjoyed by tourists from almost 180 countries from October 2 in Thiruvananthapuram, Kochi and seven other international airports in India.

As per the sources, the Bureau of Immigration (BoI) has received commands from their superiors to set up the facilities, so that the ETA installations could be done by 2nd October.  Though a little alteration is made to the statement given by the Centre, as now the visa facility will be extended to 140 countries instead of 180 countries. “We are awaiting further clarifications from the headquarters in this regard,” said BoI sources here.

While, the arrangements for starting up the ETA facility has already started by the officials, The Airports Authority of India rendered extra space in the arrival area of the international terminal. Increase of manpower to facilitate the new ETA system at the airport is also asked for by the BoI.

Initially the center decided to introduce an ETA facility at nine airports for citizens of 180 countries, except for the eight prior reference countries like Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

No comments:

Post a Comment